top of page

‘Now I can look at you in peace, I don’t eat you anymore.’


This is a quote by late author Franz Kafka, where he was referring to fish he saw in an aquarium.


Before I went vegan, the occasional slaughter house or fur farm video would pop up on my social media and I would instantly look away and cringe. I couldn’t bring myself to actually look at the footage because it made me feel too awful, too guilty, knowing I was a part of that practice. I didn’t want to know what went on, because I simply didn’t want to stop eating/using animal products.



Since going vegan, I now understand the meaning behind this quote.

Whilst doing Anonymous for the Voiceless outreach where we form a Cube of Truth with laptops playing the same type of videos I couldn’t even force myself to look at as a meat eater, I now stand and not only watch but narrate and explain exactly what happens to bystanders. I see all the gory details and yes I’m horrified that these aren’t just scary films done by CGI, but everyday reality filmed in standard factory farms. However, I can look at the animals suffering in these videos, knowing that not only do I not support what’s being done to them, but I also publicly speak out against it. I won’t be able to look at them in peace until I know the systematic torturing and killing of animals for pleasure is a thing of the past, but it allows me to step back and see the bigger picture. I can look at the footage without guilt and therefor instead use the sadness and anger I feel, and turn it into something positive. Something that can help change how the future see these barbaric practises.


Have you ever seen a slaughter house video?

Did you look away?


Let us know in the comments.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page